22. february 2012 at 10:40 | no one |  Bullet for my Valentine
Fever is the third studio album by Welsh heavy metal band, Bullet for My Valentine. Containing eleven tracks,[1] the album was released on 26 and 27 April 2010 in the UK and in the US, respectively. The album sold 71,000 copies in the US and 21,965 in the UK in its first week of release to debut at position No. 3 on The Billboard 200 and No. 1 on Billboard's Rock and Alternative charts, making it the band's most successful record to date. Since its release, Fever has sold over 500,000 copies worldwide

n a 12 March 2010 interview with UK's Metal Hammer magazine, Matthew Tuck stated about the writing and recording process for the new album:

"We wanted to do something fresh and exciting, but that was still us. Having Don Gilmore was a very conscious decision. We didn't want him to change us as musicians, just help with the vocals and get the best possible performances out of us. [...] It's a weird thing singing in the studio; you don't get the adrenaline, the energy, the buzz, it's you in front of a microphone looking at a guy staring at you. To get the performances out in the studio was hard, but Don was amazing. We rewrote the lyrics and melodies up to five times on some songs because he didn't think they were strong enough. We worked insanely hard to get the vocal lines different but still Bullet. The vocals took longer than everything else on the album put together. It was brutal work, but I personally thought I had a huge point to prove so that's why I stuck at it. [...] Everyone's buzzing about this one. We just tried to get that energy and excitement and vibe back into the band because the Scream Aim Fire [2008] sessions just ripped our hearts out of wanting to be in a band."

Guitar Edge had an interview with some members of the band where Matthew Tuck talked about Fever:

"[...] The main objective on this album was to please ourselves rather than pleasing other people and critics. We wanted to go into making this album as innocent as you do making your first record, with no expectations and no pressure. Just do what you do. That formula made our first album [The Poison] explode. So even though Scream Aim Fire was successful, we did stray away from that formula that made us who we were in the first place so we wanted to go back and recapture the moment. [...] There was a lot of experimentation in trying new techniques I'd never tried before, but ended up resulting in a better product. I always thought that I knew what was best, but I think I was internally trying to understand that I don't always know what's best and think of the better product. [...] The recording process was tough, but challenging and rewarding. The end result really speaks for itself and I adore it."

Track listing
(All lyrics written by Matthew Tuck, all music composed by Bullet for My Valentine)

1."Your Betrayal" 4:51
2."Fever" 3:57
3."The Last Fight" 4:19
4."A Place Where You Belong" 5:06
5."Pleasure and Pain" 3:53
6."Alone" 5:56
7."Breaking Out, Breaking Down" 4:04
8."Bittersweet Memories" 5:09
9."Dignity" 4:29
10."Begging for Mercy" 3:56
11."Pretty on the Outside" 3:56

Be the first one to judge this article.

New comment

Log in
  Don't you have your own web yet? Create it for free on Blog.cz.

Actual articles


I'll be back,Don't try to follow me...